mtbr member
    Jan 2014

Beginner pedal alternatives

Hi Guys

I had been riding platform pedals on a crappy bike for ten years before buying my new 29er with clipless pedals

I have Shimano M530 on the new bike. They are set to most loose/easy setting.

I find that it is still difficult to clip out (not due to habit) but due to stiffness in the pedal.

I am not sure if its the shoes interfering (don't think it is), or maybe the mechanism is just too tight.

What are my options? Is there a way to "break it in" or are there alternative pedals that are easier to clip out of?

mtbr member
    practice, practice, practice. if they are set loose, that's as loose as they get.

mtbr member
    Click the shoe in, then take your foot out of the shoe. Look at the shoe to pedal interface, and make sure there is no rubbing or other interference.

I am so absolutley accustomed to clipless pedals I cannot even fathom having difficulty clipping out, especially at the loosest setting.
    That said, I am vaguely recalling a tip-over on my road bike during a group ride from not clipping out of my Look road pedals. It's a small learning curve, but you will get absolutely used to it. Once you do, you will have absolutely no issues at all clipping out.

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    I love the HT Flats on my AM bike. So much so that I am considering changing my carbon hardtail ride to flats. Good shoes make a big difference.

I'd rather be on my bike
    Really? OP is asking about issues with his/her clipless, and you suggest flats? C'mon.

OP - you can also get multi release cleats for the shoes. You may want to check into those.
    The pedals turn, not just the left one, but the right one too.

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    ^You are an idiot ... Lack if confidence on clipless makes a good pair of flats a great alternative. Last time I checked this was the beginners forum. Just offering an experienced based solution.

mtbr member
    Feb 2014