1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

New question here. Beginer with a decent bike....

Hello, I am very new to mountain biking (6 times on the trail now) and am using it as rehab from my 4th back surgery. I purchased a Giant Talon 29er last year, but after my first real ride in the trail I knew I needed better suspension if I wanted to avoid a 5th trip to the doc. So I am now the proud owner of a Trek Remedy 9 29er I picked up for $1200 under MSRP.

I have a few questions, first the bars are huge, so wide in fact that they will not often squeeze between the tree pinch points. Is this something I can have my LBS cut down or would I be better served by picking up a new bar? I can definately tell a huge difference in handling, as it it seems harder to be smooth in my line on the FS vs the Talon. It also seems to wander a bit, especially on an incline. I know much of this is probably my old fat butt, but it was less pronounced on the Talon. So my question is what can I do, if anything to crisp up the handeling?

That will be enough questions for now. Thank you in advance for any help.

I'd rather be on my bike
    Bars can either be cut down or replaced. Measure three hundred times, cut once.
    '13 FELT TK3 48:15
    Fixed gear - but not a hipster
    2014 miles - 1604/2500

mtbr member