1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Dec 2012

Been on a Tri bike for 4 years.

Hey All,

Noob question here. I have been riding a triathlon bike for the last four years. Spent most of my time on a trainer with the exception of my races and one day a week on the road. This was due to getting hit by a car (twice) but that's another story.

I know that I'm way behind in the handling department. How long before most folks start getting the hang of the mountain bike and handling?

I hope to ride twice a week at our local parks. First ride the weekend after Christmas.

Am I doomed? Or can I see a light? Ha.

** I have many years of road riding under my belt. But I'm an old fart.

Tony

No Stranger to danger....
    Tone mate, you'll be fine.

Handling a mountain bike if you have been on a tri bike will be a piece of cake, actually imho, mountain bikes are easy to handle and you will pick it up in no time at all, you can put that in da bank.
    looking forward to hearing a few updates, just make sure you get the right bike for you and you are sized up correctly, thats the most important thing, do your research and you will be totally sweet.
    cheers n happy christmas mate....
    Dont ever let the truth get in the way of a funny story....

mtbr member
    Dec 2012