1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2007

Basic Tech for Beginners

I'm kinda new to MTBing (about 2.5yrs). I'm 37 years old and I'm pretty handy with tech stuff, just short on knowledge. (i.e. Last season I bled the hydraulic disc brakes on my bike.) I have a few tech questions. I read the links above.
    1. Can I lube/adjust my bottom bracket myself? I have a bit of creaking down there, and I think this may be the fix. Any special tools?

2. Is there a "tire basics"? I need new rubber, and I don't know jack. My fiance likes velociraptors. We ride mostly XC and DH (she's fearless on the DH, she's much more experienced than I am, and she's crazy). I"m sure there's newer and better stuff out there, but we don't need the newest and the best (usually the most $$$) to have fun.

3. I could use new rings/chain/cassette. Are these pretty much universal? Should I buy a set (I assume you can get "matched" sets).

4. I could use a stiffer front fork. Any suggestions? I'm 5'6", 180lbs (muscular bodybuilder, not fat).

My ride is an old Ironhorse full suspension (not sure of the model, I'll post a pic when I get home). It's heavy, but I like it. I ride with platforms, tried clipless and almost killed myself. My fiance has a Bergwerk, she rides with eggbeaters.