1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Attack Position?

Ok, so I am a noob. Fourth ride today on a pretty flat track. I've been reading Mastering Mountain Bike Skills. Among the other things I have been practicing (heavy feet, light hands, shifting weight fore and aft and side to side for climb/descent and turns, etc.) I tried the attack position today (as described in Mastering: head up, back flat, hips/weight over pedals).

First, I didn't really think to engage it until I had been riding for a while. Second it was in the upper 90s today and the sun beat harder through the trees than I expected. Third, I was a little bit fatigued before I even started.

The net result of this was that the attack position wasn't very comfortable for me. A major part was standing pedaling I think. I was just too out of it to stand much, particularly bent over.

Now that I think about it, maybe attack position isn't for pedaling?

What?

Any thoughts would be welcome.

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    A correction to the above. Hips are not to be over pedals, just weight. I misstated that, but I don't think my position was goofy because of it. My weight was on the pedals and hands were light.