1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

ANOTHER First bike Thread!!!!

Besides riding when I was a kid, I have NO experience with bikes. I was looking at getting a 13 Trek Mamba at LBS. I don't quite know what I love about it because I am an idiot to MTB. What I do know is that it looks great, The colors pop, it is under $1k, and there have been good reviews.

So tell me, great first bike? or am I missing something?

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    It makes a good bike to develop skills on for a couple seasons.

mtbr member
    Dec 2009
    I know for sure I wouldn't have spent that much on my first mountain bike, but hey, if you've got the money, why not?

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    If you are set on a Trek the 4700 is similarly equipped but has 26" wheels. It also has a better drivetrain and is within $100. If you weigh over 180 you won't be getting the best out of the forks on either of them. Of course if I hadn't told you that you might not ever notice. The most important thing is to test ride a few and see what fits best for you. The Mamba is a good bike though and is beyond what a lot of people start with. I, like many others, only spent around 5-600 on the first one.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012