1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

New question here. airborne vs. other brands (and a couple other Q's)

I am a beginner-intermediate rider. I have ridden very, very occasionally over the years but recently got bitten by the bug and now Iím dead set on getting a new bike!

Iím mostly interested in doing XC/all mountain, and have begun the research process into what I would want for a new bike. For some reason, my searches keep bringing me back to 29ers. The Trek X-Caliber 7 and the Airborne Goblin are both two on the top of my list. Iíve never ridden a 29er, and am not against them, but canít really say I can compare them to a 26. Should I try to demo a 29er before pulling the trigger on one? Or will it not really matter at this point in my mtn biking ability level?

Secondly - bike brands. I know the staples: Giant, Trek, Felt, etc. Iíve come across a few ďlesser knownĒ brands such as Airborne. Are there any brands considered ďnot as goodĒ as others? For instance, Iím really interested in the Airborne Goblin, as it seems like a bike that would match 1) my ability level and 2) my wallet. From my understanding, bikes with similar tech matching whatís in the Goblin go for what- $500, 600, 700 more?

I know that I want a good hardtail that I can take anywhere and will last me awhile.