mtbr member
    Jul 2015

Airborne Guardian vs Seeker

So I've read through every thread and review I can find on these 2 bikes and I'm still torn. I am just getting into mountain biking and I'm riding a used 10 year old mountain bike at the moment while I save my pennies.

For now, 50 percent of my riding will be on local trails in Castle Rock, CO and 50 percent towing my 2 year old daughter in a trailer. Hopefully as my skill grows so will the terrain I ride but I don't forsee myself getting into anything too crazy. At the most I'm looking forward to the small jumps on the dirt course by my house.

I'm trying to decide if the $330 more for the Seeker is worth it and if I will notice a difference in the Air Fork and 2X10 drivetrain. I'm starting from scratch so that $330 would go a long way towards pedals, a nice helmet, gloves, tools, and other gear I will need.

Will I quickly out grow the Guardian or for my riding is it still plenty of bike for me?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Sounds like you are sticking to the sport, in that case I would pay the extra for better specs and IF needed to upgrade stuff later down the road. I ride an entry level myself but did start on a super cheap bike from Bikesdirect which I quickly got rid of and got something better. As you have read, there Airbornes seemed to be liked by most.

If its too much of a stretch then, go with the more affordable one. I ride similar to you, nothing crazy and my bike is plenty for right now. That's not to say in the near future I don't want an even better bike. Hope a rookie's feedback will help.

Whichever one you get just Enjoy it and make sure it fits.

Edit: Love the color scheme on the Guardian
    2016 SC Heckler R build
    2014 All City Macho Man Disc
    Nashbar 29er (Rigid)

Giggity!

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    I think I would go with the Guardian and look for a better fork, if you need one, later.

wanna ride bikes?
    Quote Originally Posted by eb1888 View Post