1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2010

Air pressure for tube in tubeless and standard tires on tubeless wheels?

Hello,

I just bought a bike with a pair of Mavic Crossmax UST wheels and tubeless tires. I am new at cycling. The front, I believe, already has a tube in it (the Presta valve can be wiggled around and does not have a locking nut on the outside). Having read a few articles about tubeless -> tube, I have some questions.

1) I presume it is okay to run tubes in these wheels indefinitely?

2) Is it possible to run standard steel/kevlar/clincher bead tires in these wheels? (with tubes, of, course).

3) The tubeless tires indicate a maximum 50 PSI air pressure. When I have a tube inside, should I observe the same maximum PSI?

4) Once I go with standard tires, presuming it is okay, can I run the higher pressure supported by the new tires?

I plan to do only light XC and path/trail riding for now, so I want a simple and higher-pressure set up.

Bonus questions:

Do "Kevlar inside" or Kevlar-belted tires do a good job as being puncture resistant? Or, do thicker rubber work better? What is the best puncture-resistant set up?

Thanks very much.

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    1) Yes

2) Yes (it's possible to do it without tubes too)