1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Oct 2014

Advice on what computer to get

I'm new to this and would like recommendations on what computer to get. I was looking at some reviews for the Garmin 500 and 510. Any recommendations? Or should I stick to just some basic ones for now?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    I know this might not make sense, but you will probably pass through using a computer if you are in the sport for a while. It's very peaceful without.

Also, a phone app does the job. Get an app that writes to gpx.

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by Cindercone View Post
    I'm new to this and would like recommendations on what computer to get. I was looking at some reviews for the Garmin 500 and 510. Any recommendations? Or should I stick to just some basic ones for now?

Thanks
    I use the Garmin 510 and it does the job really well.

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    iphone for me. I use Strava and Map My Ride+. Both work well and I run both every ride. Its nice to be able to compare this ride with the last ride on the same trail. Also Strava lets you compare to others that ride the same trails. A buddy of mine is getting skeert because I am catching him on one trail.