1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Advice needed on jumping

I am after any advice I can get on taking jumps.

I have been riding for a couple of years now and I have built up an excellent fitness base. I have competed in a few xc races and have done pretty well but I am now getting more interested in the all mountain riding and doing jumps.

When taking jumps I find I have little control. When I where my Five10's I lose my footing and when I use clipless I still find I land crooked and fall off or I turn my bars too much.

When it comes to table tops I find the takeoff too steep and don't land correctly.
    Can anyone offer any advice?

mtbr member
    I can't recommend this book highly enough: Mastering Mountain Bike Skills - 2nd Edition: Brian Lopes, Lee McCormack: 9780736083713: Amazon.com: Books

One of the chapter covered gives excellent step by step instructions with stop frame photos to show each sequence of the proper setup. They don't teach tricks like whips and stuff, but you'll learn how to catch air and land it.

If you can't wait to get the book to start practicing, this is what I recall off the top of my head.