mtbr member
    May 2017

Advice for first hybrid!

I'm looking for an entry level bike that can do a little bit of everything, and only looking to spend a few hundred bucks. I've decided I want disc brakes and lockout suspension, and have been eyeing models like the Trek DS and Giant Roam. I've spent my fair share researching and educating myself online since I'm a noob, but can't decide what would be best for me. I'm having trouble finding good deals on Craigslist for the type of bike I'm looking for, but not sure if I want to pay for a new bike! I understand I might have to fork up some more money than planned, but what details and components or whatever should I be focusing on? Also, I've noticed bikes with rigid forks are much more popular on Craigslist. If I see a good deal on a rigid fork can I safely throw on a suspension fork? Really any advice would be appreciated!

mtbr member
    What type of riding are you planning to do? road? rail trails? mountain? gravel? bike paths? that will be important. Also what's a few hundred? 2 or 7?
    2016 SC Heckler R build
    2014 All City Macho Man Disc
    Nashbar 29er (Rigid)

Giggity!

mtbr member
    May 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by jcd46 View Post
    What type of riding are you planning to do? road? rail trails? mountain? gravel? bike paths? that will be important. Also what's a few hundred? 2 or 7?
    Mostly road and light trails, but want a bike that can handle a little rougher terrain if needed. I have an old Schwinn 10 speed that I've been using on the road and paths, but can't really take anywhere else. Budget wise, I'd prefer not to spend more than 5 since I'm new to this!

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

mtbr member