Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Advice on Buying a New Bike!!!

941 views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  bob13bob 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

Just coming from another forum and noticed that there are are a lot more users here hence I thought this would be a good place to start getting advice on choosing bike.

So as far as what kind of rider I am.....well i dont really know since I'm kind of a first-timer the last time I rode a bike was probably 15 years back and that too for a VERY short time....so putting it simply I am NEW to biking....I will be using the bike mainly to move around campus and during the weekends so in total I guess I would be biking only 5-10 miles a week in an urban environment (Detroit Midtown).....I have read a lot and decided that rather than spending money on a new bike I would be rather better off buying a used bike specially since my budget is VERY LOW (<$150 max). The reason why so low is so I can experiment with a used bike to get a hang of being able to control it and on reading other posts it was a better choice than trying to spend $150 on a new bike at a departmental store.

Please feel free to correct me if my thinking is wrong! Maybe a year or two down I can think of getting a better bike....

But is it even possible to get a decent entry level bike at that price? What year do I look for and is there anything special to keep an eye on...so far on craigslist these are what I managed to find do you guys think any of them in particular are better than the rest...

Diamondback Hybrid - $135

Trek 850 Mountain Bike - $85

Trek 830 Mountain Bike - $200

Trek 3700 Bike - $150

Trek 820 - $60 (rear derailuer, snapped in half)

Giant Acapulco - $185

Specialized-Hard Rock - $185

Bianchi Ocelot - $150

GT Outpost Trail Mountain Bike (94)

GT Outpost 26" Bike - $100 (looks like a 2000)......this was the one I am planning of checking out tomorrow...talking to the seller and sending more detailed pic it looked like it was taken care off.