1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Advice for building up enurance/stamina?

So I'm still a newbie, I'm skinny and spend a lot of time on my feet but I'm not all that into shape, I don't go to a gym or work out. So besides just getting out there and riding frequently and constantly pushing yourself just wondering if anyone has any specific exercises or anything they do to help build up their fitness level when they're not biking. We have a stationary bike at home, I assume riding that every day might help. Also wondering if it's good to stretch at all before biking?

T.W.O.
    Ride, rest, repeat.

If you are not in shape, you gotta pay the due. There is no short cut. Just ride, rest, then repeat

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    You need 3 minutes of intense exercise per week. Break that up into 1 minute each of 3 days. Break each days minute into 3 20 second 100% output episodes on a stationary or rolling bike. A bit more is even better.
    Andrew Hamilton
    BBC News - Can three minutes of exercise a week help make you fit?
    Last edited by eb1888; 09-08-2013 at 04:03 AM.

Fat-tired Roadie
    Mostly just ride a lot.