1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    STINKY TOFU

Addicted like crack!

First I'm a total noob. After years of being nagged by my friends to try biking I finally caved by buying a used Gary Fisher RS-1 for $250 last month. Except for the saddle and aftermarket rock shox fork the bike looked almost brand new. Not bad for a 92 bike.I hadnt ridden a bike since i was 9 back in the bmx days so I didnt know what to expect my first time out, well it was um...interesting. I thought my legs were going to fall off after the first 20 minutes, and I thought I was going to puke. But, I refused to give up and after a few weeks each ride getting longer and longer. The minute I was done I couldnt wait to get back out. Now except for the derailer being out of adjustment the Fisher was pretty good on the road. But my first time out on the dirt trails it beat me up pretty bad. So I decided to go FS. I know my choice was'nt the best out there but the price was good and I read some pretty good reviews. So I picked up an 07 Mongoose Teocali Comp for $899. no tax (store special). This is where I knew I had a problem. next thing I know I'm getting all sorts of gear;hydration packs, gloves, mini pumps etc. I already swapped out the factory seatpost and saddle for a wtb rocket pro and Thomson elite post. The weigh