mtbr member
    May 2015

29+ for a beginner?

I'm just starting out learning to ride a bike and am considering buying a 29+. My impression is that extra traction and wider tires would make the bike more stable easier to control.

Right now, I'm using a borrowed hybrid bike and it feels like I'm going to fall over if I flinch, or just pedal too hard. My gut feeling is that the relatively skinny tires contribute to the instability.

Thanks.

mtbr member
    Well, I think any dedicated "mountain bike" will ride better than the hybrid.

mtbr member
    May 2015
    For sure, especially on dirt. Right now I'm practicing/crashing on pavement. The plan is to ride on trails as soon as I buy an appropriate bike. But before I spens the money, I'm teying to narrow it down to a single wheel size.

mtbr member
    Dec 2014
    Hybrid bikes have usually thinner tires than any mountain bike. So if you go with a normal tire or a "PLUS" tire mountain bike, you will get more rubber on the ground giving you more grip and more stability. "+" is the new trend in the bike market right now. You have to evaluate what kind of riding you will be doing and then decide if you go with the "+" bike or not.
    Everything is better on 2 wheels!
    Giant Anthem X 29er
    Jamis Dakar Sport 26er
    http://mountainbikingtexas.blogspot.com/

mtbr member