1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

2014 Trek X-Cal or 2012 Specialized Carve

Hello everyone! I'm just getting into mountain biking and have already learned so much from the site. I've been visiting all the LBS around me here in Virginia and have narrowed my options down to two.

1. 2012 Carve Comp 29- $700 (Was $1300)
    Specialized Bicycle Components

2. 2014 X-Caliber 8 -$950

X-Caliber 8 - Trek Bicycle

They both feel great so itís really just a matter of picking the one with better specs or best bang for my buck. The trails around here are pretty rocky and narrow. Iíll be riding this bike daily for transportation and have aspirations of taking it to Moab, Utah someday. I am by no means fluent in bike specs to be able to make a call w/o help, so if anyone has opinions Iíd really appreciate it. My budget is SUB 1K btw.

[SIZE=3][/SIZE]

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    X-Cal has a better 100mm fork.

mtbr member
    May 2014
    Thats a tough one, I love my X-Cal but I am too new to give any advice.
    Best Photo Booth in Dallas Fort Worth
    http://www.snapzsnapz.com

mtbr member
    Dec 2013