Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

2013 Giant Revel 0 Build or New?

9K views 40 replies 9 participants last post by  speedneeder 
#1 ·
I am interested in making my bike better. I could just buy a new bike.
I started riding single track in January and I'm really enjoying it. I love my giant revel 0 except when I get to high speed on the down hill. I suspect this is an issue with the suntour xcm v3 fork, but I'm a n00b, so what do I know?
I really like the Matt black of my bike, but it's too heavy.
I could upgrade some stuff, or just buy a new bike. My goal either way would be to have a bike that weighed at least 5 lbs less. Learning to work on a bike as I go would be a plus, though not a requirement.
I would like some recommendations from people on this forum - people that like to ride the trails!

#3 ·
I could probably get $350 for it? I think if I bought a new bike I would want to keep this for a spare/loaner. How much could I spend? I COULD spend a lot - I start to get queezy when I start thinking about spending over $1500 though. I check the Craigslist once in a while for used options.
Thanks for responding to ANOTHER what should I do with my bike thread.

#4 ·
http://forums.mtbr.com/beginners-corner/if-you-want-upgrade-your-suntour-fork-830657.html
Your fork is 5.8lbs. An upgrade Epicon for 250 is 3lbs.or so. Save 2.5 pounds off the front--the most important spot for handling.
A ZTR ArchEx front wheel for 215 plus 9 for 15mm endcaps will save 1.5lbs and be stronger and less flexy.
NoTubes ZTR Arch EX 29 clincher front wheel 29"
Or lace your own for about 140 with a Novatec D711 off ebay and Supercomp/brass nips. $67 Archex rim. Very easy with patience.
Actually will get you a better lighter wheel. Joytech makes both hubs.
Put a Nobby Nic Performance 29x2.25 light tire on the front. Saves 1lb.
Total saved 5lbs all off the front with components that can go on your next build.