mtbr member
    Mar 2014

2011 Specialized Safire Comp. vs 2012 Giant Trance XW

I am in the market for a mountain bike and have been considering either the 2011 Specialized Safire Comp. or 2012 Giant Trance XW. I am new to riding and this is my first bike purchase (I have been using my sisters kona in the past). Both bikes are in slightly used condition and seem very well maintained. Also, the price point is the same. I like to ride mostly cross country with some nice and technical single track. I am looking for a good climber, but something that can handle the downhill as well. Any thoughts? What would be a better ride?

Fat-tired Roadie
    My flaky router ate my post.

Can you ride the bikes?

Off the cuff, I'd be thinking "Safire." I think it fits somewhere between a Camber, which I liked, and a Stumpjumper FSR, which I haven't tried but my friend likes. I didn't really like the Giant FS I tried a while back. Can't remember if it was the Trance or the Anthem, though.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    The first question is does either one fit you? As to handling the downhill ,that more up to the rider,sure the right bike make it easier ,with right skills you can ride allot. Go to youtube and look at road bike party 2 .

R.I.P. DogFriend
    Fit would be of ultimate importance, so if they both fit well, on to the next item of importance. They are both very similar bikes with respect to design intent (which is aligned with what the OP has expressed interest in), and the spec'd components are pretty close with nothing really standing out on either bike that would easily tilt the decision on way or another. If one is in better condition, that could be a difference-maker. Ride them both and pick the one you like and feel best on.