1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2011

2011 GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc or 2011 Specialized Hardrock Disc

Hey everyone,

I am very new to riding and would like your input on some entry level bikes. I have boiled my decision down to either the GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc or the 2011 Specialized Hardrock Disc. Which one is a better buy? Riding has been on my mind all day lately. Thanks in advance!

GT Avalanche 3.0
    http://www.gtbicycles.com/bikes/moun...sc-satin-black

Specialized Hardrock
    http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/...cname=Mountain

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    pretty similar, but on spec's alone I think you come out a little ahead with the GT. Longer travel fork, a bit more stopping power (due to the 180mm front rotor), and I have had better luck with Shimano's entry level drivetrain stuff over SRAM (This all changes once you reach the SRAM X5 stuff though).

As with everything, test ride both, and choose what feels right.

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    Bump.

I have ridden both bikes and liked them both. From a component point view of which bike is better?
    I'm a newb, been researching here and elsewhere, looking for my first bike.

Also how does the Hardrock Sport Disc compare to the GT Avalanche 3.0
    Last edited by shuto007; 06-25-2011 at 07:41 AM.

mtbr member
    May 2011