1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Giant deer tick
    Mar 2010

2010 Giant trance x3 vs fuji outland comp?

Complete noob here asking for some advise. I'm trying to decide which of these two bikes to go with. I can't seem to find any reviews on the 2010 outland comp but guy at the LBS recommended it to me over the trance.Looking to spend <$2000. I don't launch off cliffs or anything(yet). Another shop was trying to sell me a leftover 09 trance for $1400. The bike rode well and is new but it's a Large frame and I think it's too big for me even though the sticker on the frame said 5'10"-6'1". I am 5'10" 175lbs.

Fuji specs:(msrp $1700. LBS quoted me $1450)

Main frame Fuji Altair 1 Aluminum, integrated head tube, curved top and down tube, CNC'D hollow box section BB, water bottle mount
    Rear triangle Fuji Altair 1 Aluminum Four Bar linkage system 100m travel, Cold forged dropout with CNC'D disc mount and replaceable hanger, Sealed bearing pivots
    Fork Rock Shox Dart 3, 100mm Travel w/Remote PopLoc
    Rear Shock SR Suntour Epicon LOD with lockout, compression and rebound adjust.
    Crankset TruVativ Firex 3.0 GXP w/Integrated spindle, 22/32/44T
    Bottom bracket TruVativ GXP Exterior Bearing System
    Pedals Xpedo MF-3 Clipless
    Front derailleur Shimano Deore, 34.9mm