Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

2010 Giant trance x3 vs fuji outland comp?

13K views 30 replies 13 participants last post by  Cday1616 
#1 ·
Complete noob here asking for some advise. I'm trying to decide which of these two bikes to go with. I can't seem to find any reviews on the 2010 outland comp but guy at the LBS recommended it to me over the trance.Looking to spend <$2000. I don't launch off cliffs or anything(yet). Another shop was trying to sell me a leftover 09 trance for $1400. The bike rode well and is new but it's a Large frame and I think it's too big for me even though the sticker on the frame said 5'10"-6'1". I am 5'10" 175lbs.

Fuji specs:(msrp $1700. LBS quoted me $1450)

Main frame Fuji Altair 1 Aluminum, integrated head tube, curved top and down tube, CNC'D hollow box section BB, water bottle mount
Rear triangle Fuji Altair 1 Aluminum Four Bar linkage system 100m travel, Cold forged dropout with CNC'D disc mount and replaceable hanger, Sealed bearing pivots
Fork Rock Shox Dart 3, 100mm Travel w/Remote PopLoc
Rear Shock SR Suntour Epicon LOD with lockout, compression and rebound adjust.
Crankset TruVativ Firex 3.0 GXP w/Integrated spindle, 22/32/44T
Bottom bracket TruVativ GXP Exterior Bearing System
Pedals Xpedo MF-3 Clipless
Front derailleur Shimano Deore, 34.9mm
Rear derailleur Shimano Deore, Top normal
Shifters Shimano Deore Rapid Fire Shifter, 27-speed
Cassette Shimano CS-HG50, 11-34T 9-speed
Chain KMC HG-73
Front hub Fuji Sealed Bearing Disc, 32H
Rear hub Fuji Sealed Bearing Disc, 32H
Spokes 14G Stainless Steel
Rims Alex DP-17 Disc Double Wall w/ Single Eyelet
Tires Continental Mountain King 26 X 2.2"
Tube CST Presta
Brake set Tektro Auriga Comp Hydraulic Disc, 180/160mm IS rotor
Brake levers Tektro Auriga Comp
Headset V.P. 1 1/8" Press Fit Integrated, 30mm spacers
Handlebar Fuji Pro Low Rise 31.8mm, Double Butted Al
Stem Fuji Pro Forged Al 1 1/8"
Tape/grip Fuji Lock-On Kraton rubber
Saddle WTB Rocket V Comp