mtbr member
    Mar 2014

2010 Gary fisher x cal with extra goodies

Hey guys n gals I'm new to the forum. And was wondering if I can get some opinions on a bike I may purchase.
    first off I have been ridding a road bike for a couple years now and recently got the itch to get into mountain biking, I plan on doing mostly trail stuff but will most likely be rough on my bike.

Been doing a lot of searching and found a 2010 Gary Fisher X Caliber for 1000 has full shimano Deore xt drive train a fox f29 and shimano mt75 tubeless tires. Just wondering if it seems like a good deal

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    The x-cal is a decent bike, the XT equipment is really nice and a solid group set. All in all that is a solid bike, the only bad I had with it is the Trek offset fork system. Makes finding a nice replacement fork hard.
    My Giant's - 2014 Propel Adv Di2 - 2014 TCR Adv SL4 - 2014 Anthem Adv 27.5 - 2014 XtC Adv 27.5 - 2014 TCX Adv Pro

mtbr member
    Mar 2014
    Thank you, I rode the new x cal 9 at my LBS and liked it, then while doing some googling I came across this craigslist Gary Fisher. So you think 1,000$ is a fair price? I'm going to check it out tomorrow and rode it anything I should look out for?

mtbr member
    If this is it Gary Fisher X-Caliber, 17.5", Full Shimano XT, 29er, Fox Fork $1000 seems fair. If it were me though I would try and get a lower price even with all those upgrades considering its age/mileage. Just check to see if all the gears shift, brakes work, and check for dents/deep scratches on the frame. When you go to use the brakes make sure the brake levers do not go and hit the grips on the first pull of the brake lever. Usually means that the brake needs a bleed in which you can ask for a reduction in price to get the brakes bled.

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    compared to this deals those are really bad prices
    see
    Beginner for MTB

mtbr member
    Jan 2012