1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2008

2008 Cannondale F7 vs. 2007 Marin Alpine Trail

I'm a newbie and looking for a decent budget bike to get started. I found both of these bikes for about $400 and could get an additional 10% or so off. I was wanting to know which the all-knowing forum would suggest. The frame on the Marin is pretty cool and the specs seem better, but I don't know what all the specs mean yet. I am also open to any other suggestions in this price range. I am looking for a hard-tail MTB.

mtbr member
    May 2008
    For that price point, both bikes are decent. I think the specs are the same, unless you're comparing the Marin to the Cannondale v-brake F7. Other than that the components are equal, IMO. I would ride them both and buy whichever fits better and you like better. If you still can't decide buy from the shop you like better.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Yes, both bikes have v-brakes. So are you saying that the Marin has slightly better specs with v-brakes on the F7? Thanks!

mtbr member
    May 2008
    No, equal specs. I didn't realize the Marin came in a v-brake model. I thought maybe you were looking at the disc Marin vs. the v-brake Cdale.

mtbr member
    May 2008