1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Feb 2010

2003 Tomac 98 Special

I am looking at getting into Mountain biking as I started riding for triathlons last year and absolutely loved riding. Guy here has a 98 Tomac Special for $300, bike is stock. Should I go after this upper end used bike or go after new but lower end bike (say a Trek 4300) for a beginning MTN bike?

All comments appreciated!

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    What is the condition of the Tomac. A full suspension bike can get pretty ragged out over 12 years. If it is in good condition then it is a good deal for $300. But if it is worn out, you are better off getting a new lower end bike. If you don't know how to properly inspect a used bike, then you should pass, because you could end up spending a lot of money making it trailworthy. Suspension and hydraulic brakes can give a lot of problems with leaks as they age.
    2012 On One Whippet 650b
    2012 Santa Cruz TRc 650b
    2014 On One Dirty Disco
    2010 Soma Groove
    1987 Haro RS1

mtbr member
    Feb 2010

Tomac 98 Special