1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2014

1x9 Okay for Beginner?

Greetings all.

I am a beginner biker and I'm in the market for a new bike (coming from a 2008 Trek 3700). I've been considering lots of different bikes, but I came across an interesting find on Craigslist that I'd like to get your opinion on.

It's a 2008 Specialized Stumpjumper running 1x9. Do you think a beginner biker would be okay with a 1x9 bike? Is it doable to tackle climbs and descents with that gearing? I'm looking to be doing some general XC riding.

Thanks!

Fat-tired Roadie

Re: 1x9 Okay for Beginner?

LOL, I think 1x9 is stupid for everybody. But one of my usual routes starts with 1000' of climbing.

Only the lowest few gears are unique to the granny ring. If you can go for a ride and pretty much stay in your middle ring, it's probably fine. If you're in your granny a lot and you're not cross-chained, it may totally suck. At least, if it's a 32t chainring or bigger.

Does the add give the tooth count out have non-sucky pictures?
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member

1x9 Okay for Beginner?