1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Dec 2011

1x11, 1x10 parts for bike build

I have been riding with my 8 year old son for about 2 years now but I really don't know a lot about bikes and bike parts. He races on a 24" Specialized FSR. I am thinking about building a 26" bike for him and it seems to me that setting up a single gear on the front is a great way to go. With that said.....can someone recommend a good 1x11 or 1x10 setup. Keep in mind this is for a kid so I am looking for budget minded parts.

mtbr member

Sram1x11 isn't cheap, full set on eBay is close to 1k, I would think a narrow wide ring up front from race face or wolf tooth, a 10 speed chain, 10 speed cassette and a shadow plus or type two derailleur (clutch derailleur )

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    You might want to dig around the Kids and Families sub forum a bit; should find some suggestions there.
    Sinister Bikes
    Wraith Bicycles
    Sunday River Mtn Bike Park
    NEMBA
    Wachusett Brewing Co.

mtbr member
    Dec 2011
    I agree, the cost of those parts is more than my bike cost. I am sure it is a great setup but I don't think my 8 year old needs that level of equipment. Is Shadow a manufacturer?