1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: 1st post Hello

mtbr member
    Dec 2013

1st post Hello

Hello all..

I am new to the mountain bike world and will probably have all kinds of questions...sorry in advance...lol

I am looking in the $1000 range...5'9" 179lbs and have a BMX background. Turning 40 soon so I'll take it slow to start...I am open to advice and any help is appreciated.

Living in Lansing area of MI and would love some riding places too.

Thanks again and I'm looking forward to the ride!!

Picture Unrelated
    Go to a bike shop, ride everything in and around your price option. Then go to another bike shop and do it again. Then come back if you have any questions. Buying a bike isn't as hard as everyone thinks, you have a budget so there's a finite range of options available to you. Ride as many as you can. Everyone will tell you one bike brand or one wheel size or one type of bike is better than another but they're full of it. All that matters is that you like it and that it matches what you expect to do on a bike.