1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Nov 2012

1st MTB - Trek Marlin?

First off, why do some turn up their noses at 29'rs? I am new to this and wonder if there is something I should know. Don't really care cause I'm getting one anyway but was just wondering.

I understand one of the first upgrades should be the pedals. Suggestions?
    Last edited by jleeasc; 11-13-2012 at 04:39 PM.

Rogue Exterminator
    People turn their noses up to 29ers?

That's news to me. lol

I know they are not for everyone but but they are growing in popularity for a reason.

Actually most the people I know that are on 26ers keep saying they are buying a 29er.

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    Excuse my inexperience. Guess I just stumbled across a few posts of the few who objected. Anyway, ordered an 8.3 DS to get me through the winter until I decide what I really need/want. Thought it was the Marlin but now leaning towards the Mamba or maybe even the Stache for the component upgrades. I'll learn.

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    The Mamba is the best option,

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    Came home with the Mamba yesterday.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    congrats on the bike, ride it hard
    Last edited by Sean831; 11-24-2012 at 07:47 AM.

Cow Clicker
    Congratulations! Great bike - enjoy it!