Beer Please!

Keg Setup Question

Question for those who know about keg setups, both Home and commercial. Does the amount of line between the Keg and the Tap affect how much foam you can get in the lines and pours? One of the store Locations that I support as an IT person has one tap that is consistently foamy and the employees say this is why there is waste on the kegs used there. Someone told the Operations Manager that any lines shorter than 8 feet will push foam to the tap handle, but when 8 feet or longer the foam backs up in the line and allows only beer to come out at the tap. I have very little experience with Tap lines, but I know many of you guys do. Any suggestions? Would 8 feet and longer make a difference in foaming up? Thanks.
    telling me to stay out of a former bombing range next to a dump while you build huge houses next to it? Screw you.-sandmangts

I eat cats
    My Kegerator at home definitely has lines shorter than 8ft and I don't have foam issues. For me it's all about the CO2 pressure which I run differently for different beers. I do get more foam on my first pour but I always have a pitcher to catch that first then fill my glass (and I'm talking a tiny bit).

I remember when I lived next to an Irish bar in Boston that was known for a good Guinness pour had their kegs directly below the bar to have the shortest lines possible... But that was Guinness so not sure if that's something to do with the nitrogen versus CO2.
    Quote Originally Posted by CannondaleF9 View Post
    You see, I don't have a single brand name in my signature because I know most bike brands and component brands 99%.

I eat cats
    Also, hit up a Homebrew forum if you are on one. Those guys know everything about this stuff.
    You see, I don't have a single brand name in my signature because I know most bike brands and component brands 99%.

mtbr member
    Dec 2013