Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: IPA popularity

mnoutain bkie rdier

IPA popularity

Why so popular with so many people all of a sudden?

I am no expert and perhaps they have always been popular? Just seems like so many micros focus on IPA IPA IPA IPA.....

They taste like they have tree sap brewed into them or something of that nature. Is just the high amount of hops?

I just went to Stone Brewing's 16th anniversary beer fest and tried a bunch on IPAs, but I guess they just don't agree with my taste buds.

There was only one huge line at the entire event. It was for Russian River Pliny the Elder.

Yuck. It was the only beer I didn't finish. Beer foul

I feel like I am missing out on something, but my taste buds lead me to other types of beer more along the lines of a Guinness...

KC Weekend Warrior
    I think it is because it is a good way to get introduced to craft beers (everybody makes them) and they are pretty tasty. IPAs are a little hoppy, just like a 29'r if you don't like it - don't ride it
    '12 Giant Trance X1, Mavic Crossride Wheels, StansTubeless, SPD Pedals

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by rydbyk View Post
    Actually, this is a really interesting question. I've got some theories but I'd be curious to hear what others think. I think part of it is the love affair Americans seem to have with hops/hoppy beers which started about 10-15 years ago and just keeps ramping up every year. In the early microbrew days a brewers standard flagship was generally a Pale Ale and I think brewers and drinkers have just kept pushing the hop needle up and up to the point where Pale Ales are almost what a standard Lager was 20 years ago. None of this answers the real question though which is what is it about hoppy beers that people love?

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    I tend to agree. I never understood the obsession with IPAs. A lot of them taste like a bottle of pine tar to me.