mtbr member
    Aug 2009

Growing Barley For Home Brewing

Hello is anybody growing any barley or hops, I am studying urban teraforming and self sufficiency and was wondering if anybody has any experience they could enlighten me with.
    cheers
    Johnny
    Local Bicycle Trader

I'm a unitard!
    Haven't grown it, but you would have to find a good way to malt it to be able to use it. That is probably why a lot of people grow hops but not barley for homebrewing.

mtbr member
    Jul 2004

You'll need...

Quote Originally Posted by johnnymiller
    Hello is anybody growing any barley or hops, I am studying urban teraforming and self sufficiency and was wondering if anybody has any experience they could enlighten me with.
    Any brewer's that I know that tried to grow and malt barley only did it one time. All reported too much work for not enough return.

I don't know if this helps, but.... you'll need quite a bit of space. Growing and malting are space intensive. Probably why large malt houses are in ID and MT....

Good luck - sounds like quite a project. Hope you can make it work!
    I was gonna stop by and see you, but the Jehovas witnesses came by. When they left I started drinking. Voicemail from Paul

Bikecurious
    Aug 2007
    I've considered it as well, but you do need a fair amount to make it worthwhile. Probably be better off growing hops and adjuncts. You can grow hops in a pot if you want, so don't need a lot of space. I was thinking about doing that this year, but I think its a bit late in the season at this point. Depending on where you live you might be able to find some local farmers that grow grains that will work, so although you aren't growing them yourself, you're at least keeping it local.
    Howdy Doody's past the House of Aquarius

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by g-bus
    You can grow hops in a pot if you want, so don't need a lot of space..