Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Craft beers destroy my stomach

First, I am certainly not a craft beer drinker, I have them sometimes, but often just go with Coors Light, etc.

Anytime I drink more than 1 craft beer, my stomach is an absolute total @#$#@ loss the next day. What causes this? Am I the only one that this happens to? I always figured it was from it not being pasteurized or something like that.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    Live yeast usually...
    My Rides:
    Mountain Cycle San Andreas VPS
    Mountain Cycle Rumble Ltd.
    Mountain Cycle Battery
    GT STS-2 Carbon
    GT LTS

Hi.
    What does it do to your stomach? The yeast in beer will make you gassy, but it will go away with regular consumption. Oligosaccharides in beer will cause the good bacteria in your colon to flourish, which may cause some other minor GI issues.

Beer Please!
    Budweiser is not craft beer.... I kid I kid.

Is this ALL craft beer you have had? All Styles? I know some people who don't do well with certain yeast strains.
    Ride Bikes, Drink Craft Beer, Repeat.

mtbr member
    Not all, but lots of it. Wheat beers are the worst. Basically just stomach cramps, diarrhea, gas, etc.

Beachside
    Jun 2012
    Draught beers can be the cause, as stated above. I had the same thing happen to me in Sweden when I drank färskt öl, which translates to fresh beer. The live yeast will "Activate" your digestive system.

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post
    Not all, but lots of it. Wheat beers are the worst. Basically just stomach cramps, diarrhea, gas, etc.
    that's a terrible affliction to have.
    My Rides:
    Mountain Cycle San Andreas VPS
    Mountain Cycle Rumble Ltd.
    Mountain Cycle Battery
    GT STS-2 Carbon
    GT LTS

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post