mtbr member

Tell me more about KS Link

Let me just start by saying I am not an engineer.

What we've heard Keith say is that the new KS link design is more supple over small bumps, stiffer, and the rear triangle directly drives the rear shock in near linear fashion. I'd like to learn more about how this design is stiffer and stronger than the virtual 4bar setups on the old Runes and Spittys.

From what I can gather, it looks like the new dual links on ks frames are a major source of rear triangle strength and rigidity. Am I wrong to assume that the rear triangle is A LOT stiffer with the links mounted? I don't recall any other minilink designs that connect to the rear triangle like the KS does, which appears to combat lateral flex. I know a lot of current and old banshees use what appear to be single pieces of beefy aluminum CNC machined aluminum at places like the Chainstays at the BB pivot and the seat stays at the pivot there. I always look at other bikes that don't use this type of design, and they always appear under built when sitting next to something like a Rune, wildcard, or scythe. But this also leads me to believe that banshee is using a few new tricks up their sleeve if the new rune is stiffer than the old version. So am I right, is it the way the links connect to the rear triangle? Tell us more!

Nucking Futs
    From what I can see from various pictures is a few things;

- the 2 links are each solid and slot right in between the rear triangle and over the tabs on the frame. The older 2 rocker system that connects to the shock are wider than the seat tube and stand alone, this creates flex easy unless heavily overbuild.

- the 2 links are shorter in length thus creating less leverage on the axle.

- the 2 pivot points on the frame are closer together, needing a shorter axle. Again shorter axles mean less flex (unless underbuild ofcourse)