mtbr member
    Mar 2011

Spitfire - Custom bushings/shim fix

I bought a 2009 Spitfire last year with lots of miles on it. The guy who rode it... rode it hard, but it was still in good shape. I'm talking 300-500 hard rides. I put it through the ringer this year, I'm estimating at 130-150 rides. I replaced bushings twice. The last time I replaced them, I only got about 2 weeks before the frame was clapped out again. The right side of the sub pivot (the pivot behind the main pivot) was over-sized, and causing the IGUS bushings to wear prematurely. If I had to speculate on why it was over-sized, I would say the nut came loose and the pivot was running wild for a ride or two. It really wen't downhill fast, whatever it was. Any side impact really stretches that hole out too.

I work as an engineer in an unrelated field, and have access to a full shop, so here is my take. I yanked the link off and inspected, and found about .015inch difference on one side. This was causing the axle to wobble around and wear things out. I thought about machining a new link (which I may still do), but decided on shimming the hole to fit the axle. Its just a simple 6061 aluminum shim with a .0065 wall thickness (I have one hell of a lathe).

Inspecting the rest of the pivots, I found wear in just about every spot. I pulled dimensional prints from IGUS (Banshees bushing company) and realized I would need something custom to take up the slack in the distortion fits. I went with Turcite A (blue stuff) for the bushings. Info on turcite is here. Boedeker Plastics : Turcite A, Turcite X Datashee Boedeker Plastics : Turcite A, Turcite X Datasheet
    I bumped up the length of the bushing to .750 vs the standard .625. Reasoning? Best I could figure the IGUS bushings are a little harder, so I wanted to spread some of the stress out further.