Sock Monkey

Prime durability

I am considering a Banshee Rune version 2. I understand it has a similar suspension design and bearing pivot design to the Prime, which has been out for a while. I am curious therefore as to how this design is holding up....any thoughts based on your experience and observations? Thanks in advance...

great looking bikes by the way...

Prime
    I have a background that's engineering oriented, I've been machining and fabricating for over 20 years, I have been abusing all things mechanical for over 35 years, and although I've only been beating on my Prime for a bit over a month, it appears to be extremely well designed and I expect absolutely no problems from a durability stand point.

FM
    luxatio erecta
    The production frames have final machining/tooling and several refinements based on the proto frames. Also I believe the production frames have higher quality bearings.

Just out of curiosity, at one point I pulled my Prime proto completely apart, including replacing the bearings (standard sizes and easy to source locally, by the way). I sent a few comments with Keith, and as it turned out, very minor changes to the production frames had been made based on similar comments form other testers. Really minor stuff, like changing the pivot machining to reduce mud collection, triple-checking & improving tolerances, various chainguide and front derailuer compatibilty checks, stuff like that. Like optimus, I enjoy that sort of geekery, so it's been a pleasure to do all kinds of stuff that normal consumers shouldn't have to.... like swapping builds several times just to see what works best. Anyways, I think Banshee's prototype/tester program really does lead to a better product for the first production release.

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by daves4mtb View Post