mtbr member
    Aug 2010

New guy here. Morphine or Scirocco

Hey guys, im completely new to mountain biking, im currently riding an old 93 Giant Acapulco. It has no suspension, and the top tube is straight across. Im looking to upgrade to a more modern hardtail. I discovered the awesomeness that small companies like banshee come up with.

Little info about me, im a bit over 6' and weigh 280. I tend to be very rough on things, and often break stuff, not intentionally. Im not a skilled rider by any means, but just the thought of my weight and doing anything mean to my bike, riding down long stone staircases, about 1 foot drops (about the best my skill allows at the moment) and such scares me. honestly i think my current bike might break I have some questions about these bikes because i cant afford to make more than one purchase, so it has to be a really smart that gets me a bike that will hold anything i throw at it for years to come.

I was looking for hardtails that are super-strong. So far ive come up with the Lumberjack Rented-Mule, which is way out of my price range. and the Banshee Morphine.

So here are my main questions. Is the banshee morphine still considered to be a super strong frame by todays standards? Is it compatible with most modern hardtail components? i remember people saying that headtube sizes changed around 2000-2002 or something.

Secondly the Banshee Scirocco. Is this frame strong? how does it compare to the morphine in terms of strength?

How much abuse do you think these 2 frames could take from a guy of my size?

Lastly, i found a good website that still has old morphine frames in stock, but is there anywhere that sells Scirocco frames? i cant find any websites that have the Scirocco.

local trails rider
    The Scirocco would be great for what you describe, but you already noticed that availability is not too good as it is discontinued.