mtbr member
    Apr 2006

Elka vs DHX 5 - Does Elka deserve another chance??

So I pulled my Elka of my Rune this weekend and threw a DHX Air 5 I had kicking around my garage on.

The reason I did this is because as soon as I stood up to pedal the Elka Pogo'd horribly and when I cranked the low speed to stop the pogo it was pretty harsh when descending.

I've ridden Fox from the day I started riding with only short stint's with and other brands. So when I setup a shock I tend to treat it the same way I do every fox I've ever owned.

So I'm I blinded by Fox? should I give the Elka a chance and keep trying to tune it, or is it a lost cause that can't live up to it competition.

FM
    luxatio erecta
    Have you tried going up 50lbs in spring rate? That might allow you to get rid of some of the pogo effect, without relying on compression damping. You could also try running more LSC, but backing off the high speed comp 2-3 clicks ( which is really more of a "blow off") to get more platform without giving up DH performance. You may get a clunk if the HSC is set too low in relation to the LSC.

IMO the dhx air does pedal better- especially out of the saddle. Could be what you are noticing here is possibly that the rune was designed primarily for an air shock. My take, it seems like the rune has a high initial leverage ratio to overcome stiction typical of air shocks. With a coil, that makes the first part of the travel very supple, but also makes for some extra bob & chain stretch when standing. Its a trade off that's worth it for me, I just try to stay seated when climbing.

Paste eater
    Nah, give it up. I'll give you 50 bucks for it. Hows that sound?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Resnick View Post
    So I pulled my Elka of my Rune this weekend and threw a DHX Air 5 I had kicking around my garage on.