Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

2013 Spitfire

510K views 3K replies 288 participants last post by  RS VR6 
#1 ·
What do we know so far?

Does it have bearings?
Adjustable geometry? Looks like there could be adjustable geo built into the dropouts.
Geo specs?

27.5" compatible dropouts as option

"Banshee Bikes 2013" by fakawi

#797 · (Edited)
First ride with the Spitfire today. Did a 30min climb. The bike climbs pretty well even at 14kg, no dropper post yet (waiting for my Thomson) and flat pedals. Really impressed by how it rides downhill. The rear triangle feels stiffer than the one of my DH bike (Lapierre Pendbox, ok....maybe not the stiffest on the market). With the DBair and the Deville the bike really feels like a mini-DH bike.

Pics will follow. Just need to find a proper camera ;)

#802 ·
Thanks !!

I've been riding on BOS suspensions since 2009. I have BOS suspensions on my DH bike and I'm very happy with them so I went for a Deville on the Spitfire.

In my opinion, what really set BOS apart from other brands (Fox, Marzocchi, RS etc.) is the quality and the simplicity of the cartridge (open bath with no fuzzy damping system. Only shims and oil). They don't rely on new-fancy-aerospace-japanese-plastic technologies, they just engineer and build quality products.

The Deville is no exception. It sticks to the ground, gives a lot of traction while still keeping a lively feel. Thus, I found their TRC system really clever. Instead of simply locking the fork, it increases the stiffness of the air spring. So you have all the advantages of a lockout system in terms of pedaling efficiency, but still have a fork that filters the terrain (roots or rocks for example).
The weight is also pretty competitive compared to other brands out there.

So I'm very happy with the fork and stongly recommend it.