exploring the fire trails

Riding Otago Rail Trial - have questions

Hi all, im planning to ride the Otago Rail Trial by myself, sometime around sept/oct. I have a few questions I was hoping i could get some help and advice with;

- Im flying in from Australia, do people have a preference in starting from the Queenstown end or Dunedin? Or does it not make much difference in the ride?

- Im planning to bring my own 29er, usually i ride clipped in with the bike shoes, but im thinking that since this ride is not technically challenging (just long hours in the saddle) perhaps I should fit regular bike pedals and wear more comfortable shoes? (I've never done a bike trek before)

- Do the various towns along the route generally have ATMs, or do i need to carry enough cash to pay for accommodation etc?

- Any suggestions on a decent camelbak for riding that can fit change of clothes, spare tyre tubes etc? Currently I have the MULE and its too small for a multi day ride.

- any other tips or advice?

Thanks very much, sorry if some of the questions sound basic, I've only just started researching this trip.

Cheers,

Scott.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_C View Post
    - Im flying in from Australia, do people have a preference in starting from the Queenstown end or Dunedin? Or does it not make much difference in the ride?
    Most people generally ride it from Clyde to Middlemarch. There is a slight negative gradient doing it that way (albeit with a few false flats). I think it is more psychological. I have done it both ways and preferred Clyde - Middlemarch.

- Im planning to bring my own 29er, usually i ride clipped in with the bike shoes, but im thinking that since this ride is not technically challenging (just long hours in the saddle) perhaps I should fit regular bike pedals and wear more comfortable shoes? (I've never done a bike trek before)