mtbr member
    Jun 2006

Good job! New trail dedicated to Canberra's Centenary

So this is something I have been pushing for for many years now - culminating with me working with Makin Trax and meeting with the Chief Minister and the opposition in December last year, and talking with the Greens recently. Its great to see

http://www.chiefminister.act.gov.au/media.php?v=9780

CBRE Richard Ellis are doing the initial planning work so lets hope that they get it right (don't mind the term "Walking Track" this I believe is just about trying to get the media to understand).

If it were up to you what would you like to see in a Centenary Track? (bearing in mind it will need to be a multi-use trail)

nothing to see here
    Maybe incorporating a climb/descent on Black Mountain? Views would be great.
    I see hills.

I want to climb them.

fan of maple syrup
    Indeed - Steve's photos from his recent trip to the capital clearly show how awesomely placed the Black Mountain reserve is for a trail network - plus it could be linked to Stromlo given the amount of undeveloped space between them.

However, Black Mountain, more specifically it's tower, is only 30 years old. So if it's 100 years since O'Malley smashed in that first peg that you're celebrating, maybe a trail that encompasses all the city centres that have been built since then is an idea.