Thread: Move to NZ...

Formerly Carlos9

Move to NZ...

My wife and I are seriously considering moving the family to NZ. We need a change and fresh start and have always been fascinated by the beauty of the islands and culture. Obviously it would be done legally and will take some time, effort and money to accomplish but in the meantime, could any Kiwis give me some basic recommendations (other than don't bother!) about decent areas to live, work and play? I know its a broad question with many unknowns but we love the outdoors, my wife is a beach girl, I like the mountains and biking anywhere and everywhere. She's a nurse, I'm a journeyman Painter and Decorator with a lot of management experience. We have 4 kids so good schools would be important, along with a little culture, maybe a few decent restaurants etc. Ideally we would be outside a larger city or town but within an hr or less of the beach/mountains.

Also, any advice on the immigration process would be greatly appreciated. Shes a US citizen, I'm a dual national with US/British citizenship and we would be moving from the US.

Cheers in advance.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Not too many kiwis would tell you not to bother it's a fantastic country and most of us love it to bits.
    I am born and bred here so can't help with immigration but nurses are sought after so you should be able to find enough points to get in.this website might help

Immigration New Zealand

Almost anywhere in the country meets your criteria so take your pick. I have lived in many parts of NZ ..given that you have some skills that our mangled Christchurch needs and is a place abundant in mountains, beaches and MTB opportunities it would be one recommendation, the capital Wellington and surrounds also fits the bill. Auckland is a nightmare for some and a mecca for others not much in the way of mountains or good MTB IMHO but fantastic beaches and lots to do.