rider
    Feb 2008

Bringing a mountain bike to Chaing Mai Thailand.

Hi all,

I am an american student, getting ready to spend a year abroad in thailand.
    I have learned that Chaing Mai, the city I will be studying abroad in, is the mountain bike capital of SE Asia.

I am an avid mountain biker and I am considering bringing my bike with me, but I just have a few logistical questions.

1) Will I have to pay duty/ custom fees on bringing the bike into the country, The bike is a 2012 Ibis Mojo HD & I know i will be paying extra freight, but not sure about duty fees.

2) How do you get from the city to the trails? Are there trails that you can ride too from downtown; or do you need to be driven out to them.

If you do need to drive to the trails how do you do it? Do they let you bring bikes on tuk-tuks and songtaws? I will have no access to a car, and so if it is too much of a hassle to get to the trails I will leave the bike at home.

3) Rental availability: I know that there are plenty of places that offer rental mtbs, and guide services, but do any of them offer high-end bikes. I am a pretty aggressive rider and would destroy most of the bikes I see pictures of.

If I can make this work I definitely want to bring it, but also wanted to talk to someone who has done this before before hopping on the plane Friday.

Thanks,
    ben

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    You may have to pay duties/customs if you ship your bike. I've included a link that you can follow and might be able to find the information you desire. If you've never been to Thailand before you will love it. If you have money you can get anything you want including your bike on a Tuk Tuk.

Adventure and Excursion tours Chiang Mai Thailand - offers adventure tours, mountain biking downhill, cross country.

rider
    Feb 2008
    Thanks looks like ill be bringing the bike. I leave tommorow and will definatly check out that company.

Can anyone chime in on good bike shops/ good rides in the chaing mai area?