Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Why aren't there more Super D events in AZ?

853 views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  Maadjurguer 
#1 ·
I just did my first one last weekend and started searching for more upcoming events, and nothing. I would have thought this would be the most popular form of MTB racing, but there's absolutely nothing out there. What am I missing?

Please excuse my ignorance. I am very new to the MTB racing "scene".

#2 ·
I think Super D has kind of died off Nationally.

Why not more? Someone needs to promote them, get permits, insurance, volunteers, ... It is a bit of work. The turn out likely does not make it viable?

Seems like we get XC races only (MBAA, Epic, ...). Would be cool to see more DH tech types of races here too.

I would like to see some legitimate Enduros in AZ. That would be similar to Super D, but no shuttle and some different rules. New Mexico has a series. We do have the grass roots Beerduros which focus on fun and a little racing.

#3 ·
I think Super D has kind of died off Nationally.

Why not more? Someone needs to promote them, get permits, insurance, volunteers, ... It is a bit of work. The turn out likely does not make it viable?

Seems like we get XC races only (MBAA, Epic, ...). Would be cool to see more DH tech types of races here too.

I would like to see some legitimate Enduros in AZ. That would be similar to Super D, but no shuttle and some different rules. New Mexico has a series. We do have the grass roots Beerduros which focus on fun and a little racing.
Enduro would be great, and perhaps more viable as it has become very popular, but would also argue less viable due to the amount of stages involved. Single stage Enduro? Being called "Enduro" I think would attract more people.