mtbr member

Tucson! What is THE ride?

Hey all!

Visiting some family down in Tucson this weekend for Easter. I plan on bringing the Yeti 575 to play on some of your excellent trails I keep hearing about!

So with that being said I'll probably have Friday afternoon and Saturday Morning to ride. What's THE ride or ride's i need to hit with the little time that I have?

Any input is appreciated. Thanks!
    Ride: 2014 Yeti SB66AC

EDR
    Do you like some tech? I'm no Tucson expert but if I only had a few hours to burn I'd get a ride up to Molino Basin and drop down from there to La Milagrosa. Should take a couple hours. If you have more time you can start higher at Bug Springs to Prison Camp to Millie. That adds a lot of time but there are opportunities to bail onto the highway and bomb down Mt. Lemmon. You're 575 will thank you.

check this out, it's a full meal deal but you can use it for reference. Lemmon Drop 2012 | PedalPics

If you're not into good A/M riding or tech then forget my suggestion The Lemmon Drop just might be the best ride in AZ (imo) if you don't mind some HAB and plenty of tech. Best done with another rider if you're a Lemon virgin. I think most would consider this a ride for the 'advanced' rider....and this is by AZ standards where technical trails are commonly found. Bring lots of water and some food if you start high. Despite the elevation loss you will still pedal plenty and burn a ton of calories.

But you did ask for THE RIDE...this is it.
    Last edited by eatdrinkride; 03-28-2013 at 12:22 AM.

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    edr is right, a shuttle up mt. Lemmon starting at Bug Springs trailhead is THE ride. But I would suggest Golder Ranch upper and middle gate if you don't want to shuttle. I would do that Friday and Brown mtn. or Upper Javelina/Wild Mustang in the morning. Pm me if you want more specific info.

mtbr member
    So far, some great recommendations.