Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Tri's anyone?

Not a Barry supporter.

Tri's anyone?

Any tri-atheletes on this board? I really want to start doing a few of these. I just need the push to get out there and do it. My main problem is I'm a stone in water so I'll have to get some coaching in that area.
    Why would I need more than one gear?
    @A_SingleSpeeder
    EPA = crooks!

swashbucklerette
    Yep! I've been doing tris for 7 years now and all the distances. I didn't know how to swim freestyle before my first tri, but had 2 months to train and worked my way up to the 800 yds I needed to do my first race. Shoot for a race that has a pool swim, as that will be easier than dealing with open water. Some races have shorter swim distances (like ~400 yds) so that would be good to aim for for a first tri. Get in there and just start getting time in the pool.

A great site I use is http://www.beginnertriathlete.com. Free training logs, and a ton of great articles and info. They even have free training plans to follow.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    There are a few triathlon this fall that if you started training for now you would do great. Spet 26 is the Nathan Tempe Tri, Oct 10 is the PBR Off Road Tri in tempe (papago), and SOMA Tri on Oct 24. I'd be happy to give you a few swimming pointers / workouts to get you started. Where do you live, train? I live near central and bell, easy access to trail 100 for running and mtb. I usually swim at the McDowell pool but sometimes swim at Mountainview Pool. Let me know if your interested.

slow uphill
    PBR is very beginner friendly - there are tons of people who are new to off road tris, so that is a good race to start on.

its the same weekend as 24 Hours of Moab

mtbr member

Great Sport