mtbr member
    Oct 2008

SS gearing for east valley trails

Can any of you SS riders clue me in on your gear ratios. I just bought a new SS with 33x20. I'm new to SS and want to know what works for National, Gold Canyon, Hawes, etc.

Thanks for your help

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by aevanlloyd View Post
    Can any of you SS riders clue me in on your gear ratios. I just bought a new SS with 33x20. I'm new to SS and want to know what works for National, Gold Canyon, Hawes, etc.

Thanks for your help
    What size wheels are you on? I'm using 32/18 on a 26'er. I can ride most of Hawes ok with that gearing.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    I'm on a 29r.

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    Not sure about gearing for a 29'r I'm sure others with real world experience will chime in shortly. Good luck

mtbr member
    32/20 on my 29er is working well for all but the really long steep stuff.

mtbr member
    U will walk plenty with twenty

No Clue Crew
    Apr 2005
    I've always run 32/20 on 29er SS.

I am Walt

Your 33x20 will be a fine all-around SS gearing for the Valley. Change the back out to a 21 for any big climbing rides (like the McDowell's), or to a 19 for miles at McDowell Mtn Park or Desert Classic.

I run 32x19 for everything, and like that ratio.

Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk
    Ride more; post less...

I love bike!
    I run 33x20 on a 29er HT and can clean just about everything out at Hawes except for mudflaps. I would be walking quite a bit climbing the steeper stuff on Mormon or Natty but I've never tried and don't personally think it would be that fun anyways coming down YMMV. That's what I have the 6 inch bike for. Started with 33x18 and that was too steep. I don't get to ride much more than once a week so again YMMV.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008