mtbr member
    Mar 2008

Sedona and Flagstaff trail conditions?

Planning to leave for my trip out to Arizona on Friday. I expect to be in Arizona sometime late Saturday night or or Sunday afternoon. How are the trail conditions in Flagstaff and Sedona?

Since I'm a beginner by Arizona standards (I have not ridden a mountain bike outside of Nebraska and Iowa), are there any trails I should avoid? Any sections of trail that you can warn me about...like where I might fall off a cliff or run into another hazard without much time to react?

If I can, I'd like to spend a day or 2 in the Flagstaff/Sodona areas before heading to the Phoenix/Tuscon areas. Also, a local bike shop worker from Arizona said he prefers Tuscon trails over Phoenix are trails. Is there a consensus on that?

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Trails in Sedona are in good shape. Shady spots may have some mud -- and even a patch of snow.

Flagstaff trails, on the other hand, are covered with snow and will be for a few more months.

-db-

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by getagrip View Post
    Also, a local bike shop worker from Arizona said he prefers Tuscon trails over Phoenix are trails. Is there a consensus on that?
    Mary Ann or Ginger?

mtbr member
    As mentioned above, Flag will be a no go. Sedona and everything south of it in the state are dry, gonna be some great weather on Saturday, possibility of rain on Sunday. As for exposure, there is a little bit on the highline trail, even more on the hangover trail, other than those you should be fine. However, these are a couple of sedona's finest trails, worth checking out if you wanna work those skills.

slower than you
    Quote Originally Posted by getagrip View Post
    Since I'm a beginner by Arizona standards (I have not ridden a mountain bike outside of Nebraska and Iowa), are there any trails I should avoid?
    Prolly a long list, that.
    "Let our people travel light and free on their bicycles." Ed Abbey