mtbr member

Riding SS this weekend suggestions?

I am using a friends single speed this weekend. It is not full suspension.

I'm letting a friend who has never ridden use my FS bike. I figure he wont be up for too much since it is his first time out so it's a perfect time to try SSing it!

I am used to riding an all mountain 6 inch travel bike. Any riding suggestions you guys have that will keep me from crashing and help me enjoy riding a SS would be appreciated.

Not sure what the trail will be like as I will be riding in Laughlin/Bullhead. I talked to a local shop up there and they said there are ample trails I plan on having them direct me to a beginner trail......primarly for my buddy but being I am not experienced on SS it should be good for me too!

I am planning on doing a couple turns at Papago to get the feel of it. What should I expect?

Thanks,
    Ross

mtbr member
    You should expect to be buying/building a SS after the experience. It's addictive.

CrazyEye
    You'll love it. I just took mine out for the first time this afternoon. I've only ridden a my geared FS. Beleave the hype. I'm not in great shape either. I've been riding about a year and only get out once a week, twice if I'm lucky. And it wasn't the bad at all. I thought SSing was only for these dude's who are in killer shape. But you can ease into with the right gear combo. Papago is perfect for your friend if he's never been out.

Dirty Monkey