mtbr member
    Mar 2008

Reccomend a bike for AZ Trails??

Hello,

I am very new to mountain biking, a good friend of mine is really in to it. And right now I am looking to just pick up a bike, to ride with him on trails around my house (I live on Crismonm in Mesa) so I'm close to Usery & Dawes I think. I was planning on getting a hardtail at first to see if I'm even interested in mountain biking before dropping alot of cash on a full suspension. I was thinking about getting a Specialized Rockhopper, and was just curious if this would do good on the trails around my house?? Eventually as I get more experince and I would want to move up to advanced trails etc... Is this a good place to start?? I'd like to stay around $600 for a bike, can I get anything decent to begin on?? If the Rockhopper isn't good for around here, is there anything someone can reccomend?? Thanks for the help. I figure lots of people here know the trails and probably have some gear advice!

Rob

Dawn to Dust MTB Club
    My 1st ride was a Rockhopper, great bike, loved her! IMO it's great choice for a beginner ride. Plus learning to ride on a hard tail will help fine tune your skills when you graduate to a full suspension.

mtbr member
    Rockhoppers are good. Just make sure it has a decent front fork.

Wait, what!?
    Quote Originally Posted by TheTrux
    Rockhoppers are good. Just make sure it has a decent front fork.
    Agreed. I dont know what the 2008 comes with, but I wasnt a fan on the 07 Dart 3. Great bike

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    Thanks for the feedback!! I'm also thinking about looking at the Mongoose 707, its a FS but its only $800, which is only $200 more then I planned on spending, I've also heard Ibex does some very reasonable FS bikes. Was curious if I should just go with one of these FS bikes or stick to the hardtail?? Any advice, as I am un-sure!

Not a Barry supporter.